Procrastination


I think I must be the best procrastinator in the world. Take today for example. There are about 50 things I could be doing, but I just don’t feel like doing them. Since the world won’t fall apart if I don’t get them done immediately, why not sit here a few minutes longer and ponder which one I should do first.

For starters, there are two bathrooms just begging to be cleaned. The thing is we usually do this on Friday nights, but last night we simply didn’t feel like it. So we didn’t. Of course, at the time, we chose not to remember just how much we hate to clean on Saturday morning. So here I sit at 12:19 p.m. tapping away at the keys and doing my best to ignore the germs that are invading the bathroom sink.

Then there is the shoulder stretching routine. It has to be done. I know that. It’s just that the dog is out cold on the spot on the couch where I need to lie down to do the first part of the routine. And yes, I could just shove him to the other end, but that would mean facing nasty looks from him. It’s easier to wait a few more minutes…hours…

Speaking of said dog. There’s that torn doggie coat that means making a new one. Upstairs on my sewing table is the fleece laid out and ready to be cut, along with all of those other sewing projects I could be working on. It’s not that I don’t enjoy them; it’s just that doing them requires getting up from my nice, sunny spot on the south side of the house.

And then there’s that bread recipe on the kitchen counter. So far, I’ve gotten out the flax seed meal. It does need to be baked and sooner rather than later. I know that. After all, there’s that niggling little voice at the back of my mind that keeps reminding me of my conversation with my doc yesterday. Cut back on the carbs — your sugar’s up. That means thinking a whole new way, creating a new diet and baking new kinds of breads. 

Therein lies the basis of procrastination. I — and I assume this is true of other procrastinators — put things off because it means thinking a whole new way. Becoming always ready to move on to the next project requires  organization…of the mind, of the projects, of life. And that’s just it. I’m not organized. There are too many things to do (most of which I really do want to do), but where to start? How to start? Which to begin first?

There’s only one way to find out. Ask Mr. Organization for help. He is the master of scheduling projects…one after another. But there’s a problem. He’s in the basement. That would mean getting up off my chair and going down there to seek some help. So…here I sit…pondering…wondering… and waiting…just a few more minutes.

One response to “Procrastination

  1. I am a procrastinator. Absolutely. I have projects to do that I actually do want to do, just no organization or desire to get started. Where to start? That is the question. Your blog describes me on so many days and we are the same age. I wonder if that is the problem. Interesting.

Leave a Reply

