Two of a kind


About 24 1/2 years ago, a baby girl was born. Well, probably a lot of baby girls were born at that time, but this one in particular made an impact on me…for a variety of reasons, not the least of which that she was my daughter.

Somewhere along the way, she developed an interest in music, dance, and created a repertoire of odd characters — each with his or her own personality and accent. Daily, these individuals would wake us up in the morning or bid us goodnight. Throughout the day, they’d pop up at the least expected moment.

I’ve always assumed other parents are entertained regularly by their children, but I can’t be sure of that.  Rarely did a day go by that our mornings did not begin with a vocal solo of some slightly errant version of a well-known ditty or a comedic turn with the male parental unit joining in.

The older daughter sometimes joined in, but more often rolled her eyes and tuned out. After some 18 years, said child moves off to college. Mornings were quiet. Too quiet. So quiet, in fact, that we welcomed the phone calls at odd hours just to get our daily fix.

Quite honestly, in all my dreams, I never expected her to find her match. There could be no one out there with a similarly warped sense of humor and silliness. It was not possible.

I’ve been proven wrong. Yesterday, as I helped said daughter and son-in-law pack up their belongings for a move across Bearcat country, I learned the truth. She has met her match in her husband, an equally vocal sort well-versed in Anneisms and who has developed his own solo — and often falsetto — performances. 

Here’s an example. You try driving through the unfamiliar back streets of Cincinnati and Newport, KY, up hill and down, passing a dizzying array of bars, community centers, restaurants, all the while searching for the street address that does not exist….all this, while your two passengers carry on a conversation that is a mixture of song, international accents, musical argument and faux karaoke. It’s not easy.

But alls well that ends well. Somewhere in this world are two other parents who are equally happy that their son, who kept them entertained for years, is now keeping company with my kid, his perfect match.

One response to “Two of a kind

  1. Mary, what a joy! I find that I miss my son more when I am with him…..it reminds me painfully of what I haven’t got around when we are not together.
    And the odd voices – variety of characters – oh yes. The English Butler – who lived on and on in the answering machine – was a favorite. such good memories!

Leave a Reply

