Ramblings on why technology rules the roost


I wonder sometimes if it’s possible to have too many computers. Actually, I’m pretty sure it’s possible, and in our case, probable. But I try to rationalize this by reminding myself that we don’t have a tv in every room…in fact, we don’t have tv in any room. So technically, our technology is still on the limited side.

So…here it is only Wednesday and I have managed to conquer a new laptop at work and a new netbook at home. Both have Windows 7 operating system — which contrary to what our techies told us is not “just cosmetic” in its differences. Well, maybe it is cosmetic, but since I find cosmetics decidedly short of simple, it’s been a challenging week. Just figuring out how to recreate my signatures for e-mails took at least an hour.

Back to the home front. The husband recently traded his mini-Mac in for a super-duper Mac — actually, a business necessity. This presented a few problems. The old Photoshop and InDesign didn’t cooperate with the new system, which meant purchasing new versions. The new system also messed up the husband’s e-mail, and required some fancy footwork by daughter number 1 and Ryan, our Icon tech guy. Here’s a secret — my husband is Mr. Organization except when it comes to his e-mail and Facebook. Both flummox him. Don’t tell him I told you this.

Aaaanyway, just when the new Mac was up and running, the 10-year-old Macbook decided to kick the bucket. This, in itself, is nothing short of amazing in that Macbooks don’t usually last that long. Not willing to give in, the husband ordered a new battery. It arrived, was installed and Bingo! The Mac popped back to life…for 10 minutes. This meant that it was time to start considering the purchase of a new Macbook. Why? Because, otherwise, our marriage would become a short-distance commuter marriage because he would be in the basement working most of the time and the only time we’d see each other would be for a 30-minute supper break with Laverne and Shirley.

As it turns out, the Macbook comes with a complementary iPod Touch. The husband’s eyes crossed on that one. He can’t even manage my simple Nano, so clearly, this will be my toy. Sure hope the kid can come home soon to teach me how to use it.

In the middle of the Mac fiasco, I decided it was time to get myself a little netbook. After consultations with the university techs and a few friends, I chose an Acer that weighs less than 3 pounds. Fits in my purse. Perfect. In fact, it’s a perfect fit for my three fingers that aren’t working quite right now. The keyboard is so tiny that the fingers don’t need to stretch nearly as far.

Despite the fact that I’m feeling just a tad guilty about all of these techno purchases, I just realized something. While we don’t have a tv in every room, we just about have enough computers that we could watch all of our old favorite shows on hulu.com. In stereo. If only we could quit working long enough to watch.

Leave a Reply

