Yes! We have no bananas


There is that delicious moment when you feel yourself dropping off to sleep, knowing that in just seconds you will be oblivious to the world around you. Then there is that moment when your senses are startled awake by some unwelcome interruption.

This happened to me a few nights ago. I remember hearing a question entering my subconscious and wondering WHAT THE HECK? My pleasant drift into slumberland was jolted awake by my husband, asking…”What happened to the bananas?”

Here’s the thing: I hate bananas. My husband knows that. My mother knows that. My children know that. Even my 20-year-old niece knows it and in fact, if she reads this, she may not speak to my husband again because she claims her dislike for them far outweighs mine.

My response to him was a chilly, “You’re asking ME? I didn’t buy any.” And then thankfully, for once, I drifted back to sleep.

Toward morning, I woke up to an aching shoulder, so fetched an ice pack. When I opened the door of the freezer, guess what was hanging from the inside rack of the freezer door? Yep.

A bunch of FROZEN BANANAS.2013-02-19 06.59.18 Somehow they’d slid off the top of the fridge into the freezer. I couldn’t help myself. I had to laugh. Clearly, he’d not located them. Before removing them to the counter top, I took a photo.

When I returned to bed, I nudged the sleeping husband and said “Found your bananas.”

No response….just a slight snore.

You’ll have to ask him what he did with them.

Leave a Reply

