Hopscotch — alive and well in 2013


Remember hopscotch? Guess what? It’s still alive and well….at least in our neighborhood. Yesterday we had one of those glorious early spring days that just begs for playing outside in shorts.

Anyway, with temps in the mid-60s, my two favorite next-door neighbor kidlets were busily designing their own hopscotch board on the front sidewalk. I bet them that they couldn’t extend it beyond their property line all the way to our driveway.

The almost-6-year old (he made sure I knew exactly the date on which he turns 6) was drawing the squares and numbering them under his 8-year-old sister’s giggling directions. 2013-03-10 14.23.41

When I asked if I could test it, they looked at me in that dubious way that only children can. After all, in their minds, I’m OLD. My children are MUCH OLDER than them….so old they barely remember them. But being the cheerful kids that they are, they allowed me to take a test hop. 2013-03-10 14.23.532013-03-10 14.23.38

When I reached the final squares, I heard Xavier breathe a sigh of relief. He grinned. “I thought you were going to fall.” Ali giggled. Ahhh, the forthrightness of youth.
He then proceeded to show me the rock they intended to use for their game. Apparently, their version involved throwing the rock on a distant square. If it fell in a square, they could take a turn. Okay, so this is not the version I remember. So what? Are games not designed to be played with whatever rules one chooses to assign?

This is the joy of being a child and having plain old fun on a beautiful sunny afternoon in Ohio. And what better way to do this than by dressing for fun?2013-03-10 14.24.59

4 responses to “Hopscotch — alive and well in 2013

  1. I love this Ode to Hopscotch! We, too, had a gorgeous weekend and ventured out to a school yard playground where my 3 year old daughter squealed in delight when she saw the hopscotch grid. I didn’t even know she knew what hopscotch was! We played played by our own set of rules and had a blast.

  2. Pannabecker Steiner Mary

    Thank you for your comment! It’s amazing what a couple of rounds of a good old-fashioned play will do for our winter-weary souls.

  3. Pingback: Have You Ever Stood Up for Someone Else? | New Grandmas Rock!

  4. Pingback: TGIF Friday PLAYday: Find Fitness Outside | Eat Play Move

Leave a Reply

