Centerpiece for an herb garden: Clay pots paired with glossy paint and VOILA!


You know that feeling you get when you look at the perfect pictures of perfect gardens and landscaping in magazines? Kind of that “oh, I wish my yard could look like that….” But unless you’re a professional landscaper or are willing to spend oodles of money to hire someone to turn your yard into something out of Better Homes and Gardens or Martha Stewart Living, you’re left to your own devices.

And that isn’t always a bad thing. You’ll end up with something much more beautiful and satisfying — if only because you’ve done it yourself. At least, that’s what I tell myself at the beginning of every summer when we begin reworking the gardens and trying to create something different.

My herb garden hasn’t varied much since we first designed this one after moving in 22 years ago — at least in size and shape. Herbs have come and gone, new ones have replaced old ones.

Last year for my birthday, my daughter surprised me with a birdbath that she’d designed from various sized clay pots. It’s amazing what one can do with plain old pots and some bright glossy paint. The birdbath has a place of honor smack in the middle of the herb garden.

It begins with this,IMG_0489[1]

topped with this,IMG_0488[1]

and then….voila!IMG_0485[1]

2 responses to “Centerpiece for an herb garden: Clay pots paired with glossy paint and VOILA!

  1. Hi,
    Someone in my Myspace group shared this site with
    us so I came to give it a look. I’m loving the information!
    Exceptional blog

    • Pannabecker Steiner Mary

      Thank you so much! I’ve been taking a much-needed break from blogging but your comment has given me some motivation to return to regular posting. I’m so pleased to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

