What would you do with a kumquat? Top a goat chop!


While on a recent vacation to Tybee Island, GA., we trekked up the outside stairs to our landlord’s deck at the top of the house. From there, you can see all over the island and out to various points in the Atlantic. While I was busy looking at my favorite beach spot, my husband was excitedly motioning at what he thought was a kumquat tree in the side yard. It was.

Their first response was a very eager, “Would you like some?” Apparently, the tree bears year round and after awhile they grow tired of them. She made kumquat wine once but the labor intensive project convinced her not to try again.

I knew someone who would come up with a use for them and happily picked a bag of them. This solved my quandary about what to take to my brother and sister-in-law when we stopped at their farm on the way home.

On the way to Virginia, the hubs ate a few, proclaimed them delicious and then admitted he could only eat a few at a time.IMG_0088[1]

Kumquats are often eaten whole — the rind is sweet and the center is sour. Culinary uses include candying and kumquat preserves, marmalade, and jelly. They can also be sliced and added to salads.

When we got to Va., I handed them off to my sis-in-law, Karen, knowing that she would come up with a creative use for them. Which she did. Several nights later, we had goat chops (they raise goats) with a kumquat-pineapple salsa. Of course, there is no recipe. She remembers throwing kumquats, pineapple and “some other stuff” into the blender. We then topped our goat chops with it.

IMG_0092[1]

 

4 responses to “What would you do with a kumquat? Top a goat chop!

  1. Karen Pannabecker

    We had it on pork too and it was very good. I added sage that time. I’m glad you liked it. I wonder when I’ll see kumquats again.

  2. Pannabecker Steiner Mary

    I’ll bet it would be good on just about any meat and fish. We’ll bring more next time….

  3. We have them here in Japan, but we’ll find no goat here, that’s for sure. We do like them right off the tree, but I think the salsa is a great idea.

  4. Pannabecker Steiner Mary

    But you have access to fish, right? Try that!

Leave a Reply

